Happy New Year Remembering Christmas past as 2022 comes to an end✍️

A lovely photo of my nieces visiting in 2022 -joyous with my sons as they were in 1962 framed on the wall behind ☀️

1932 – Kanchrapara, Bengal, India. 3 +years old , remember my Mum’s sewing machine, making and dressing us up for the Fancy Dress party, my older sisters helped

1932 – Hazel and Allan as bride and groom 🌻

1942 – Bangalore, India

It was during WWII.

We had moved all the long way down here while my Dad was serving overseas . My older sisters joined the WAC my oldest brother, Allan, Midshipman, RINVR, . We, youngest 4 , attended day school for the first time, instead of boarding school in Darjeeling- all so different. Lots of fun

1942 Bangalore- Trixie and I

1952 – London, England – Christmas spent with friends in the country.

Our second Christmas in Hampstead bedsitter, working, studying, theatre , ice-skating and having the time of our lives

London 1952/1953 tandemming / camping, all over UK, and a snap of our wedding in 1949 Calcutta

1962 – Sydney, NSW, Australia

We emigrated in 1955 as £10 POMs (as posted on this blog some time ago).

1962 – we now have 3 beautiful sons under age of 7, a dog, 2 cats, 2 cars, a house/mortgage and Christmas is for the children

Dear folk , all the best for 2023. I hope to hear of your past and present experience of this journey, 🙏🏼✍️


Leave a comment